What is the California Breast Cancer Special License Plate?
The Breast Cancer Awareness License Plate, or Pink Plate, is an idea started by four women, all breast cancer survivors, who wanted to do something to promote early detection and help more women and families survive this terrible disease. We have all seen specialized license plates on vehicles across California. The Pink Plate would be the newest option for California drivers to purchase.
The California Pink Plate Campaign is dedicated to passing AB 49 and collecting the public support needed to make the Breast Cancer Awareness License Plate a reality in California. Please join the effort by pledging your support.
How does the process work?
AB 49 will create the authorization needed to make the Pink Plate a reality. This bill must pass the California Legislature and then be signed by Governor Brown. If we are successful, it will become effective on January 1, 2014.
Once AB 49 is law, the California Breast Cancer Pink License Plate Campaign needs 7,500 paid pledges within a year for the special license plate to become a reality.
We cannot collect payments until AB 49 is signed into law by Governor Brown. Right now we are asking you to pledge your support; we will contact you when we are able to accept payments.
When we reach 7,500 paid pledges, the California DMV will produce the plates and begin to distribute them. To pledge your support and/or indicate your interest in ordering the Pink Plate, please click here.
We hope to see California Pink Plates hitting the streets in summer 2014!
Who can get these plates?
Anyone who has a currently registered California automobile, truck, trailer or motorcycle, including commercial vehicles, may order California Breast Cancer License Plates.
How much do the plates cost?
The California Breast Cancer Pink License Plate will cost an additional fee in addition to your normal registration fee. To order a sequentially numbered plate (a random set of six numbers and letters selected by the DMV); the cost will be $50 ($40 per year to renew).
Where will the fees go?
All funds generated from sales of the California Pink Plate will be deposited into the Breast Cancer Awareness Account, which will be administered by the California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS). The law requires that DHCS use all these funds to raise awareness about breast cancer and to provide free and reduced-cost breast cancer screenings.
The department already administers the Every Woman Counts (EWC) program (click here), which provides free clinical breast exams and mammograms to California’s underserved women. The mission of the EWC is to save lives by preventing and reducing the devastating effects of cancer for Californians through education, early detection, diagnosis, and integrated preventive services, with special emphasis on the underserved.
The Every Woman Counts program partners with county departments of public health and county health consortia across California to provide women with local, easy access to screenings.
We know that early detection is critical in treating breast cancer and increasing survival rates. Money generated from the California Pink Plate will allow more women across California to get regular breast exams and mammograms, potentially saving the lives of countless of women.
Are the fees tax deductible?
A portion of the California Breast Cancer Pink license plate purchase price and renewal fee is considered a charitable contribution and is tax deductible to the extent permitted by law. For questions about your taxes, consult a tax professional.
How can I help?
Spread the word! Tell your friends, family, and co-workers to pledge their support for the California Breast Cancer License Plate. Email this web site to everyone you know that lives, works, and recreates in California.
Contact your State Assemblymember and State Senator to let them know you support AB 49, the Pink Plate Bill. You can find out who your representatives are at this website.
If I already have personalized plates, can I keep my configuration?
If your personalized plates have 6 characters or less, you can keep your configuration. The addition of the pink ribbon on the left side of the plate takes the place of the seventh character. Because of this, the maximum number of characters allowed on the plate is six. Your registration fees will include the cost of the personalized plate in addition to the cost of the Pink Plate.
I currently have a different specialized license plate – can I switch to the California Breast Cancer Pink license plate?
Yes. Go to the pledge your support page and complete the online pledge form. We will contact you when you can order the new plate. There will be a small transfer fee.
How long will it take to get the plates?
Once AB 49 is signed into law by the Governor, we have one year to collect the necessary 7,500 paid pledges. After receiving 7,500 paid pledges, we will submit the applications and fees to the DMV, which will produce and distribute the California Breast Cancer Pink license plate.
We hope to have Pink Plates hitting the streets by summer of 2014!
Will I be able to give these plates as a gift?
Yes. You may give a California Breast Cancer Pink License Plate as a gift. Go to the order form page and complete the web or paper pledge form and fill it out on behalf of your gift recipient. Indicate your interest to give it as a gift in the comment section of the form.
What will you do with the information I provide on the order form?
We will not share your information or send unsolicited emails/mailings or make unsolicited phone calls. Our goal is to collect the contact information of people who are interested in ordering a Pink Plate when they become available. We can easily contact you when we are able to collect paid pledges, that way we can quickly reach the 7,500 threshold.
Once 7,500 paid pledges are received, we will notify you and transfer your information to DMV. DMV will produce and distribute the California Breast Cancer License Plates and contact you when your plates are ready.
Can I get a California Breast Cancer Pink license plate if I currently have a disabled plate?
DMV allows disabled persons and disabled veterans to display Special Interest License Plates only in lieu of DP or DV plates. In such cases, a parking placard must be displayed in the vehicle to receive the parking privileges.